📕 Review: Bone Crossed

 

rosehartblog.wordpress.com (6)

  • Author: Patricia Briggs
  • Series: Mercy Thompson #4
  • Published: 2010 by Orbit (first published February 3rd, 2009)
  • Purchase: Amazon
  • Reviewed: July 28th, 2017
  • Tags: Urban Fantasy | Shifters | Paranormal | Ghosts | Vampires | Romance
  • Recommended to: Fans of Shifters, UF with shifters/ vamps
  • Content warning: –
  • Overall Rating: ⭐️⭐️⭐️
  • Note after the last page: Hmm.

Blurb:

By day, Mercy is a car mechanic in the sprawling Tri-Cities of Eastern Washington. By night, she explores her preternatural side. As a shapeshifter with some unique talents, Mercy has often found herself having to maintain a tenuous harmony between the human and the not so human. This time she may get more than she bargained for.

Marsilia, the local Vampire Queen, has learned that Mercy crossed her by slaying a member of her clan—and she’s out for blood. But since Mercy is protected from direct reprisal by the werewolf pack (and her close relationship with its sexy Alpha), it won’t be Mercy’s blood Marsilia is after.

It’ll be her friends’.

The fourth book in the series highlights the aftermath of Mercy’s run-in with Tim, and the psychologic scars it’s left. It also pulls her through the emotional ringer in terms of her friends being the target of Marsilia’s anger. Both leave the feisty heroine in a vulnerable state, yet she continues to kick-ass. The ghost-hunt angle was good in this, I hope there’s more of that in the books that follow.

We also see her and Adam come together -finally! Although that was kind of anti-climatic. Perhaps that’s down to favouritism between potential mates, he’s a strong alpha alright, but for me, he’s kind of flat…? As always, the supporting characters were memorable, particularly young Chad.

Now, I like Mercy’s character, she has the attributes I love in my female MC’s. And I should have loved this – it has all the ingredients to a story that usually appeal to me, a suspenseful plot, twists, dark notes … but something just feels off.

After Iron Kissed (Mercy Thompson #3), I wasn’t in any urgency to pick ‘Bone Crossed’ up. It sat there untouched for weeks. Now I’ve finished it, I’ll put the next book in the series (Silver Borne: Mercy Thompson #5) on my next haul pile but I don’t know when/if I’ll pick it up.

One of the reasons I think I will is because there’s no denying how exciting the situations are that Mercy finds herself in, and how she gets out of them. Within the UF world, Brigg’s has created, you have Fae, Shifters, witches, ghosts, and more. So there’s always an opportunity for Mercy to face something bigger and worse, and piss them off with her smart mouth and fierce fighting capabilities.

I’m baffled why I’m not in love with this series. I don’t know, maybe I’ve had a run of great reads that have overshadowed what this could have been for me. Sometimes that happens. For me now though, I’m giving this three stars. Not terrible in the slightest, but not jaw-droppingly amazing, either.

ƦOSEĦARƬ

Add me on: Twitter | Instagram | Facebook | Facebook Page | Goodreads

2 thoughts on “📕 Review: Bone Crossed

  1. I have followed the series from the beginning, and now look forward to the new books as they come.
    Sometimes I feel no connection to good books when I read so many of the genre. So I then read something completely different for a while.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

