📕 Review: Wicked Hunt

@Rose_Hart_Blog (2) copy 2

  • Author: Cari Silverwood
  • Series: Dark Hearts #3
  • Published: June 2nd, 2016
  • Purchase: Amazon
  • Reviewed: 21st July, 2017
  • Tags: Dark | Horror | Erotica | Fantasy | Paranormal | Menage | Suspense | UF
  • Recommended to: Fans of Dark Erotica Lit | A paranormal edge to Dark Erotica
  • Content warning: Graphic Violence | Graphic sex | TPE
  • Overall Rating: ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️
  • Note after the last page: Finished book 2 in the early hours of the morning. Bought this & continued reading. Now I have to attend an event in a cathedral. Fire extinguishers are-go!

 

‘Fifteen men? Or was it sixteen I’d murdered? All of them Mesmers, of course. A-grade assholes.’ – Zorie

I knew Zorie would be mad as hell in this final book in the series thanks to Wicked Weapon’s ending. Of course, the only problem with her going on a killing spree is possibly losing her humanity.

After her time spent with the Collectors being trained, her issues with Grimm and Mavros, and anger toward Mesmers as a whole, Zorie is on the war path around Europe. Ultimately she wants the man who held her former student, Cherie, enslaved as a Collectable, dead. It hasn’t escaped her notice that by using the Mesmers’ Collectibles, her morals are questionable. Especially since some may be left to rot in jail.

But there we go again with the light and dark notes of the characters within this series. They’re not always about sunshine, rainbows, and heroism. They’re storms, and hailstones, looking for rainbows.

Zorie is also, how shall we say? Unsatisfied. Being a Collectible, even one who has the ability to control other Collectibles, she can only get-off with the help of a Mesmer. Good thing two are hot on her tail…

“I would move heaven, the sun, the stars, bring them down and make them into jewelry for you Zorie, if I had to, to win your heart. I want you as my partner in love and life. I want to protect you from the bad things.” – Grimm 

I hoped, but I really didn’t think Wicked Hunt (#3) could be as captivating as Wicked Weapon (#2) was. I knew the characters would be further developed, their situations ongoing, Cari’s ability for taking a story places you wouldn’t think it would go, but I just loved book two. Then this. Not only did I get an ending I was hoping for, with a relationship dynamic I have been dying to enjoy/ work in dark fic, but I got the grit and suspense. The atmosphere, the arsehole antagonist, the tenderness, the fear, the wow-factor, the holy-shit moments. Along with everything mentioned in book two’s review.

And I also got what would have been the first taste of a Mesmer-turned-animalistic had I not read the spin-off book ‘Wolfe’ first. In Wicked Hunt, you see the beginning’s of that certain change happening to poor Grimm, and Zorie’s chained by him, hoping he doesn’t snap! You’re also introduced to Wolfe, or in my case, seeing him in a new light. As soon as they mentioned the wild ‘monster’ kept in a hole in the ground and fed humans, I knew it was him. Yeah, I did the squee-clap. Odd, because he’s pretty brutal. Whatever. And I hated Johann & Rudy instantly because of it, FYI.  

‘Wolfe was the weekend amusement/one remaining creature that I could harvest my research from/If they gave me a lab and a research fund again.’

To think I wrote in my Wolfe reviewThe scene. That scene. There are so many bloody scenes of the whole series that need the ‘Tweet me so I can have an ‘OMG’ with you!’

Now I haven’t forgotten Mavros. Mr Black. Mr original. Mr had-a-purpose-for-his-drive-in-the-first-book. But I’m not saying a whole lot about him, it’ll give too much away. If you’ve read the first two books in the series, then I think you’re going to love this one and the direction it takes.

Overall:

Recommended. Obviously. The beginning of the series starts slow in that it sets the foundation, but as a whole, it’s like one big adventure that you may as well buy at the same time. I fully intend to buy the paperbacks too. There are no cliffhangers at the end of each book, it’ll be your curiosity that urges you to pick the next one up. Then Wolfe. Which I plan to re-read after I’ve read something light.

Which brings me to a question. I usually have breaks between dark reads, unless absorbed within a series. Am I the only one? How, how, do Dark Lit authors write these back to back and not become sad, overwhelmed? Or cuckoo?

Dark Hearts Series:

*Reviews for all three go live today & so may be edited.*

ƦOSEĦARƬ

Add me on: Twitter | Instagram | Facebook | Facebook Page | Goodreads


Quotes:

“I would kill any man who tried to take you away from me.-.png

“I have heard stories about a girl who could resist. A girl who killed. The one thing I haven’t done yet is killed anyone…”

‘I’d done things that polluted my very sense of self. That made me wonder where all this darkness had come from.’

‘I could never again be plain Zorina Brown. I was Zorie, a woman who sought revenge for a friend and for herself, and in so doing I had killed my own self.’

‘I needed rage and couldn’t summon it, finding only fear and sorrow. Grimm had gone somewhere else.’

2 thoughts on “📕 Review: Wicked Hunt

  1. Pingback: 📕 Review: Wicked Weapon | ƦoseĦarƬ

  2. Pingback: 📕 Review: Wicked Ways | ƦoseĦarƬ

Leave a Reply

