📕 Review: Father

@Rose_Hart_Blog (2) copy.png

  • Author: Clarissa Wild
  • SeriesStandalone
  • Published: April 25th, 2017 Amazon
  • Reviewed: July 16th, 2017
  • Tags: Contemporary | Dark | Preacher | Erotica | Crime | InstaLove
  • Recommended to: Fans of dark erotica with thriller vibes
  • Content warning: Graphic violence, strong language, explicit sex
  • Overall Rating: ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️
  • Note after the last page: First story I’ve read with two Epilogues…

 

Blurb:

Confess your sin.
People call me Father, but I prefer Frank because I’m the worst preacher you’ll ever meet. Days spent completely wasted pull a number on you, especially when you’ve got a truckload of baggage that comes with it.
Until this beautiful girl in the back of the church takes my breath away.
…And we end up committing sacrilege in the confessional.
Did I mention I’m filthy?
Bad doesn’t even begin to describe me, and after one taste of what she’s got to offer, I want more.

Too bad having a dirty mind isn’t the only thing we’ve got in common…
Our past is laced with sin.

Filth. Sinful, epic filth. 😼

-Forgive me, God, for I'm about to sin like fuck.-

I was expecting the bad preacher, I wasn’t expecting just how bad. I thought the MC would be all reformed… I don’t know, a drunk but seemingly put-together, older, man, like what I remember of Søren. I got something different. So we get from the blurb that Frank is wasted often thanks to his baggage, what we learn as ‘Father’ progresses is that said baggage is basically his own fault, yet heartbreaking all the same.

I wasn’t a fan of the over explaining lines ending some paragraphs, or the bigging himself up moments (but it’s written in his POV so expected), but, the danger surrounding him, the quick pace, the dangerous scenarios, the ass-kicking, the twists? Yeah, I liked those. And by fuck were the sex scenes raunchy/ filth/cover-mouth-screw-one-eye-closed, hot. Laura was a good match for Frank, albeit a little too forgiving.

22773269.gif

What makes up for this is that I got the vibe she was pretty badass herself. She’s the daughter of a verrry bad man. I mean, come on, you’ve got to have (lady)balls if you go to confession and get yourself off right there.🙈

I’ve been back and forth with the rating on this one. I’m sticking overall with four stars since I gave two books I read before this three stars and I think I’ll remember this one more. In fact, I know I’ll remember this more. Badass.

If you like a Contemporary romance from a male’s POV with violence, murder, a flawed hero, oodles of somewhat taboo sex (that does play a part to develop the storyline) then this is for you.

And the cover… Covercrush alert! 😻

ƦOSEĦARƬ

Add me on: Twitter | Instagram | Facebook | Facebook Page | Goodreads

Leave a Reply

